Top stars dropped as England boss Southgate release provisional squad for Euro 2020 ▷ Nigeria news

Top stars dropped as England boss Southgate release provisional squad for Euro 2020 ▷ Nigeria news

– Gareth Southgate did not include top names in England’s provisional squad for the Euros

– Tottenham’s Eric Dier while Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold was a surprise inclusion

– The final 26 will be released on June 1, two weeks before the Tree Lions begin their campaign against Croatia

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Gareth Southgate released his 33-man provisional squad for the Euro 2020 tournament and top names were dropped from the list, Daily Mail, Sky Sports.

The team which would still have seven players exempted shortly after the finals of the elite European competitions involving three Premier League clubs in the finals including Man City, Man United and Chelsea.

Trent Alexander-Arnold’s resurgence in the final few weeks of the Premier League season for Liverpool secured a spot in Southgate’s squad.

Top stars dropped as England boss Southgate release provisional squad for Euro 2020
Gareth Southgate dropped Eric Dier but invited Trent Alexander-Arnold Euro 2020.
Photo by Eddie Keogh
Source: Getty Images

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Read also

Gernot Rohr names Musa, Marcus, 22 others in the team to face Cameroon

However, uncapped Brighton center-back Ben White, Everton’s Ben Godfrey, Sheffield United and West Brom’s goalkeepers Aaron Ramsdale and Sam Johnstone all got called up into the squads.

The final 26 will be named on June 1 as England will be preparing to take on Croatia in their first group game against Croatia.

Injury-doubts Harry Maguire, Jordan Henderson and Kalvin Phillips have also been included before seven players will be dropped by Southgate.

Here is the full list of players invited by Southgate


Jordan Pickford, Dean Henderson, Sam Johnstone, Aaron Ramsdale


Trent Alexander-Arnold, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Conor Coady, John Stones, Luke Shaw, Kyle Walker, Ben Chilwell, Kieran Trippier, Tyrone Mings, Ben White, Ben Godfrey


Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice, Mason Mount, Jack Grealish, Phil Foden, Jesse Lingard, Jude Bellingham, Kalvin Phillips, James Ward-Prowse,


Harry Kane, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Raheem Sterling, Jadon Sancho, Marcus Rashford, Ollie Watkins, Bukayo Saka, Mason Greenwood

Read also

Sergio Ramos left out of Spain squad as Man United, City stars make final 23-man squad for EURO 2020

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group ‘Naija Football Fan Zone’

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that Man City’s prize money from winning the Premier League is less than what they were earned last season despite coming second behind Liverpool, The Sun, Mirror.

Despite capping up a remarkable season with another crown, their prize money did not replicate their brilliant display on the pitch.

The Citizens went home with £163million, with £123m for TV rights and the remaining £40m for finishing top of the table.

Source: Legit Nigeria

Source link